Weekend of Food

20121203-082458.jpg20121203-082341.jpg

It has been gorgeous for the last few days in Sale. The sun has been shining and the skies are the purest blue. Saying that, I look out of the window to a thick cover of grey cloud. I predict heavy rain followed by icy weather = me falling over on the way to the museum tomorrow.
So as the temperatures hit -7, our boiler cuts out! Brilliant. So I ate my breakfast sat on a chair in front of the open-doored oven :) I am not sure why I added this photo of our veg draw, but doesn’t it look yum?!?!

In other news, I’ve been eating excellently this weekend.
First stop was 1847 on Saturday, it is the same chain as the one I reviewed in October (here), but it was the restaurant in Chorlton. It felt more cosy and less posh than the restaurant in the city centre, but as usual the food was to die for!

20121203-085800.jpg20121203-085807.jpg

20121203-085819.jpg20121203-085834.jpg

I had sesame crusted tofu with lettuce wrap and soy sauce, and oh. my. god. It was heavenly!
Following the starter was the Spinach and Mushroom Strudel with seasonal veg. There was beetroot but in a way I’d never ever tasted before and it was amazing! It reminded me of those beetroots I still have from the Able & Cole box, I should’ve used them yesterday with our Sunday nut roast!
Then, we went to the Tea Hive again, but this time just to pick up some cakes that we could have with coffee when we got in :)how sophisticated are we?!??
I went to unicorn to get some humous and inevitably ended up getting cake from the deli counter. I got a ‘mocha cake’ and stupidly thought it was just a chocolate cake, but when I unwrapped it there was a coffee bean on the end! My heart sank a little when I remembered mocha is chocolate coffee (duh! I know this especially from working at Starbucks but didn’t really do the math). I don’t usually like coffee cake. I think chewing coffee generally doesn’t appeal to me. But surprisingly, it was well nice. The chocolate was smooth and melt-in-your-mouth, and the coffee wasn’t overpowering at all.

So after that fiasco, I came home and generally lazed around (I’d been in work since 6.30am so I was allowed to laze :D), then later on at night we all got a bit peckish and I knocked up this beauty:

20121204-112554.jpg20121204-112608.jpg

20121204-112617.jpg

It was salt and pepper chips (with a massive kick) and kale and grated purple carrot, which were both steamed for 5 minutes then mixed together with a little S + P. It was simple and good food, so satisfying to eat. :D

We also had our cousins dog Freddie staying for the weekend, so I thought I’d give him a shutout to end the post :D

20121204-113008.jpg

