Aubergine Bakes (vegan recipe)

Oh. My. Lord. If I could eat this every day I would!

20130425-144636.jpg

It all started when I didn’t know what to make for tea. My sister wanted the classic Sundried Tomato Pasta Bake that is my fall-back dish, but I wanted something else. Cue the compromise.

I google’d ‘Italian Food’ and just looked through the google images. I saw these glorious looking discs in breadcrumbs… But without a recipe…So I thought I’d improvise.

20130425-144538.jpg

First preheat oven to 200C

I sliced the Aubergine (aka eggplant) into pieces about an inch thick, then covered them in vegan mayo.

I took 2 pieces of brown seeded bread, and crumbled them into breadcrumbs (not sure if this is how to do breadcrumbs???) and rolled the mayo Aubergines in the bowl until covered.

20130425-144546.jpg

Place on a tray in an oven at 200C, for 15 minutes, turn then put back in for a further 15 minutes.

They might not even be Italian, but whatever they are, they’re creamy on the inside and crunchy on the outside… And what more could you want?

Serves lovely with the pasta bake!

20130425-171820.jpg

