I didn’t even miss egg!

As a child, I always loved egg mayo sandwiches but they were that sandwich that you weren’t supposed to choose and everyone would go eeew egg! But anyway, I liked them!

I’ve not had egg mayo for years, and so going vegan never really phased me on the egg front. In fact, I didn’t even particularly miss fried eggs. But then Mouthwatering Vegan did it again, she stepped in with a recipe for a vegan fried egg which rocked my world.

You can find the recipe for the fried egghere, and follow the links for the egg mayo sarnies.

So here it is… My first attempt at a vegan egg, and I can assure you my fry ups will never be the same again!

20130508-150930.jpg

It was delicious with the toast, and I can just imagine the scope that this yolk recipe has. You can add more water to make it runnier, which would facilitate dippy egg & soldiers. Or you can scramble it with tofu for a more realistic ‘scrambled tofu’. I suppose you could even use this fried egg in recipes that call for poached eggs (I.e. served over asparagus). It really is phenomenal and I’m so glad I stumbled across this recipe!

Since then, I have had a tea party with the girls in the sun, featuring a 100% vegan buffet. We had ‘egg mayo’ finger sandwiches, then hummus, pomegranate & cucumber, hummus & falafel, and jam . We also had peppers and cucumber with dips, then I made a batch of raspberry cupcakes. Oh and not forgetting the hand squeezed orange juice and cups of tea! The egg mayo sarnies were hands down the star of the show!

20130508-151343.jpg

And then today, as I couldn’t quite resist it, (and yes, for the third day in a row)… I had a egg mayo bagel.

My life is now complete!

20130508-151441.jpg

