Eating Vegan in Bangalangor

I’ve wined and dined in a few places in Bangor already, some when I was visiting over summer, and some in the last 3 days…. But here’s my impressions so far.

#1 = Blue Sky Cafe www.blueskybangor.co.uk

This one comes in at number one for me. Locally sourced, organic, delicious food at its best. There is a woodburning stove which looks great and I bet it’s so cosy in winter. I had a tofu ciabatta, followed by a slice of cake. I can’t remember what the cake was, but it wasn’t the best I’ve ever had… But the ciabatta was AMAZING and such a big portion. I’ll definitely be coming here again.

20130917-183943.jpg20130917-183948.jpg

#2 = Kyffin www.kyffin.blogspot.co.uk

This is the first place I ever ate in bangor, and wow what a find. It’s just by the cathedral end of the High street, tucked away opposite varsity. God knows how we found it but my mum had looked it up online and we were following her iPhone maps until we got there :D Te determination paid off, as it was absolutely beautiful food. The staff were really friendly and there is loads of seating in a relaxed and cosy atmosphere. It was a toughie between this and Blue Sky as to which got #1, but I reckon Kyffin could creep to #1 by the end of the year. A little expensive but definitely worth it, especially for their beautiful juices.

20130917-183926.jpg20130917-183931.jpg

 

#3 = Noodle one www.noodleone.com

Voted the best restaurant in bangor, we had to give it a try. I went here with my mum and got tofu noodles. Always a win as I am a HUGE fan of noodles. They were perfect, but were really just like anything you’d expect at a noodle bar. No complaints!

20130917-184132.jpg

 

#4 = The Feral Cat www.feralcatbangor.com

Interesting, as all three of the above eateries were closed on Sunday when I moved to bangor, so me and my parents wondered around and this seemed to be the only place ope n! Previously called The Fat Cat, but reopened under new management in the last few weeks, it is definitely still in transition. The menus says ‘The Feral Cat’, but the windows say ‘The Fat Cat’. Confusing! It didn’t look promising from outside but once you enter it’s really nicely decorated, with big chunky furniture, and the food was great. Definitely a step up from normal pub grub. I had the vegetable burrito minus the cheese, and we also had warm bread with marinated hummus and olives for starter! I can definitely see myself going drinking in this place, and another bonus- the portions are HUGE. We also got ‘the best seat in the house’

20130917-183954.jpgWP_003842 (1)

