Salt ‘n’ Pepper’d Corn

I have a corn on the cob and I don’t know what to do with it.

My dad basically forced me to get it. So now it’s sat in my kitchen, and it doesn’t know what to do with itself.

Another awkward member in my kitchen is my bird-like squash. It looks like an animal therefore I’ll probably refrain from eating it for as long as possible.

How vegan.

 

220130918-150148.jpg

I googl’d the hell out of Corn on the Cob recipes, and I basically followed a recipe badly, and added a few more stuff in, and subbed out some others, but it was with main inspiration from this (I love the photography on that blog… jealous).

Now that I’m in beautiful Bangor, even a trip to the supermarket is beautiful. I stopped off at the beach on my way home and thought I’d died and gone to heaven! I can’t believe I live here.

Bangor

Anyway, here goes…

Ingredients

1 unwanted corn in its leaves

Sea salt

Chilli powder

Olive oil

juice of 1 (unwaxed=vegan) lime

Serving Suggestions:

Ginger noodles to serve (finely chopped ginger + oil fried in a pan, then add in the noodles for 3 minutes)

Salt ‘n’ Pepper style stir-fry (red peppers, green chillis, spring onion and oil in a pan)

 

Method

123

45

1. Preheat oven to 350F/180C/gasmark4-5

2. Peel back leaves, and strip back the silk. Rub with oil, salt, lime juice and chilli powder. Re-cover and roast in the oven for 20-30 minutes, until corn is soft.

3. Meanwhile, fry chillis in a little oil to coat the wok with chilli gorgeousness. I added two whole green chillis and they BLEW my head off, so be sensible! Then add spring onions and red pepper.

4. When soft, transfer to a bowl. Give your wok a rinse, no need to properly clean it just a little rinse so you don’t get burnt bits!

5. Add chopped ginger to wok, followed shortly by the noodles.

6. Now your corn should be ready. Remove from the oven, and open up the leaves. Stuff with your chillis, peppers and spring onion, then close back up until you tuck into it.

7. Serve next to the noodles and ENJOY

97

6

