Day 3- Curried Lentil and Quinoa Recipe- Vegan

Mixed emotions on the days eating. AMAZING juice and lunch. I LOVE hazelnuts (even if they’re like 90% fat). But I don’t feel that glow. Early days I know. I tried to put into action that the ‘biggest meal of the day should be lunch’ but its getting later and I’m not full up, so I guess this is where I tell myself I don’t need to be bursting to my limit to be full. I also should NOT have covered my salad in olive oil, I won’t be doing that again in a hurry, I actually feel like it’s sat in the bottom of my stomach. I’m on the search for nutritious foods but am having a complete mind block as to what I can eat that doesn’t contain pasta or bread, so any suggestions are massively appreciated.

Here’s todays damage:

Breakfast- Juice (4 apples, 3 carrots, kale, broccoli stalk, ginger, 1tsp spirulina powder, 1tsp shelled hemp)

photoGridImage (1)

Lunch- Curried lentil and Quinoa with mixed veg (recipe below)

photo 4

Dinner- Salad with olive oil and lemon dressing (Lettuce, avocado, spring onion, tomato, bell pepper, cucumber) << Definitely not making the mistake of eating something this boring for dinner again, unless it’s followed by something very sugary!

photo 5

Snacks- about 50g of hazelnuts (I know… that’s like 300+ calories… not that I count calories… but not the best snack OOPS)

photo 2 (1)

-Hot water with lemon

photo 1 (1)

Confession- at about 8pm I was craving actual food, so I had a carrot and coriander soup that I bought from Unicorn, a vegan shop in Manchester. It was just sat there OK, and a salad for dinner is not enough.

photo 3 (1)

Curried Lentil and Quinoa Recipe

This is basically a load of veg fried in spices, then lentils added, then water (or stock if you want more flavour) added, then quinoa added. Choose whatever veg you like, but here’s how I did it:

Ingredients

photo 1photo 3photo 2

1 red onion, roughly diced

1 aubergine, roughly diced

bunch of broccoli, broken up

6 mushrooms

2 handfuls of cherry tomatoes

Curry powder

Turmeric

Garam masala

1 cup Mixed lentils

1 cup Quinoa

Method

1. Fry onions in a little hot oil, then add the rest of your veg in order of which takes the longest to cook. i.e. I added broccoli, then mushrooms, then tomatoes, then aubergine.

2. After 5-10 mins, add 1tbsp turmeric and 2 tbsp curry powder. Mix.

3. Add lentils and mix, covering the lentils in all the spices and juices from the veg.

4. Top up pan with boiling water, until it covers the veg.

5. Bring to boil, then simmer for 30 mins with a lid on the pan.

6. Then add the quinoa, and simmer for a further 15-20 mins, again covered.

7. remove pan lid, and allow to simmer until the water has cooked away to your liking.

8. Enjoy with a sprinkle of raw spring onion to give an added crunch, or coriander if you have any.

 

To see where the challenge began click here.

