Day 4- Breville’d cauliflower

Today was a day of leftovers, and blending!

I used my new blender that my brother got me for Christmas (Breville hand blender and food processor- Don’t just blend it, Breville it)  to blend up some cauliflower for a mushroom’d cauliflower mash (recipe below). I then put my leftover Lentil and Quinoa into a hotpot, mixed in 1tbsp tomato purée and 1 tsp smoked paprika, and topped with the cauliflower mash. After oven baking with the lid on for 45mins, I removed the lid and allowed it to crisp for 15 minutes.

It was beautiful but could’ve done with a little more moistness. Smoked paprika is such a winning spice.

Here’s the whole day:

Breakfast- green juice (obviously!) It was a jumble of kale, apples, ginger, broccoli stalk and spirulina powder. I drank it rapid without taking a photo, but here’s the end of the juice :D

photo 1 (2)

Lunch- Tomato & Basil Soup (1 serving!! It was another one of the premade ones I bought on my shop with my mum in Manchester. It said half a container was 1 serving and I’ve never ever ever stuck to that before, I have always eaten the whole thing. But in an attempt to stick to my ‘eat single portions’ new years resolution, I ate half the container! And it was surprisingly quite a lot. Didn’t look as empty in the bowl as I’d thought it would.)

photo 2 (2)

Dinner- “shephards pie” minus the shephard bit. Using Lentil and Quinoa as the ‘meat’ and cauliflower mash (recipe below) as the potato.

photo (11)

Snacks- 1 Apple donated by Callum in the library :D and a few hazelnuts (fatty!).

photo 3 (2)

Confessions- I ate the second half of the tomato soup after dinner!

 

Cauliflower and mushroom mash

I heard of cauliflower rice, where you process cauliflower into rice-sized pieces to avoid the carbs. I kinda took it a step further to mash. It’s a very make-do recipe adding in bits here and there until it tastes how you like it.

 

Ingredients

Cauliflower, blended

Mushrooms, diced

Garlic, finely chopped

Onion, diced

Oil

Rice milk (or other vegan milk)

Nutritional yeast (optional)

photo 2 (3)photo 5 (2)

photo 3 (3)photo (10)

Method

1. Blend cauliflower in a food processor

2. Fry onions and mushrooms in oil until soft. Add a bit of garlic.

3. Add in cauliflower, and milk (rice, almond, soya, whatever takes your fancy) and cook on medium heat until at the consistency you like, adding more milk if you fancy it.

4. I last minute added in some nutritional yeast flakes for cheesy flavour but that’s optional. Once it has thickened to your liking, it’s ready to go onto the ‘shephards pie’.

