Scrambled Tofu- The Best Breakfast I’ve Ever Ever Ever Tasted!

Full english, bacon, sausages, eggs, all those good-for-nothing ingredients that secretly you wonder whether you can replace, but never quite do. The only hot breakfasts I’ve had as a vegan have been tomatoes, mushrooms, toast and beans, and always seemed to be missing something. This is it.

I’d heard it before, and never got round to trying it for myself but, oh my word, scrambled tofu is amazing!

I made it for the first time, and made up what I put in it because figured that like when using tofu in other recipes, it just soaks up whatever flavours you put in it. It tasted so good and I’ll definitely be making it again. Below is the recipe for the one I made, but it is was a (very good) first attempt so who knows I may perfect it in the future with cool additions.

Hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I did, definitely put a smile on my face for the day 😀

yum yum yum even looking at the photos make me want it again, anyway here goes with the recipe that I concocted:

Ingredients

Extra-firm Tofu (drained)

1/2 white onion (diced)

Rich Soy Sauce

Teriyaki Sauce

Turmeric

Salt and Pepper to taste

Serve with Basil and a Wrap or on Toast

Method

1. Fry the diced onion in a little oil, until translucent.

2. Add a generous splash of both Soy and Teriyaki sauce (or you can buy Soyaki sauce apparently, which is the two already mixed together) and swirl around in the pan with the onions.

3. Crumble the drained tofu into the pan, and mix to make sure all the sauce is covering the tofu. The tofu will absorb all of this soy/teriyaki yumminess.

4. To give this scramble its yellow, authentic scramble appearance you will need to add about a teaspoon of turmeric, and it changes colour in no time.

5. Leave to cook for about 5 minutes on a medium heat, constantly mixing.

6. Add salt and pepper to taste, and I served with a wrap and fresh basil leaves.

7. Enjoy 😀

Leave a Reply

