Big Ideas For My New House

This is going to be my ONLY post today! I have no self control when it comes to procrastinating from revision, and I am therefore only going to post ONE thing each day to make sure I’m concentrating more on molecular genetics (boooooo…) so I better not make anything nice for tea or that’ll tempt me to post again…

This post is all about my big, amazing, spectacular plans for my new house …:D

It’s such a sunny day in Manchester today, and I woke up at half 7, made a smoothie (and a lot of mess), did all the washing up from last night and this morning, put on two loads of the washing machine, and even vacuumed the lounge- all before 10am πŸ˜€ Hello good housewife!

I also have been wanting to get a spice rack for some time now, and made the executive decision today that I am going to make my own πŸ˜€ but that will have to wait til after exams! In the mean time, I have used an old washing machine tablet box tilted on its side πŸ˜€ Works just as well I suppose…

I am also planning to make some cushions for our very empty and un-homely-looking lounge, as we moved in about a month ago and it’s still looking very bare. I also am planning to make a curtain for the cupboard under our stairs… it’s very ugly looking and would be so easy for me to make some kind of creation out of scrap fabric, so look forward to some craft-style posts soon!

Also, I recently made a dreamcatcher, which I’m extremely proud of so I thought I’d show off by posting you some photos πŸ˜€ I made it completely out of things I found in my house, I didn’t buy a single thing (some people may find it worrying that I had wire, wirecutters, wool, beads, gold thread and imitation feathers all in my bedroom at my parents house… but hey, I’ll blame it on my arty childhood). After posting these photos I have realised that I used feathers… not vegan at all… but I was almost certain they were fake plasticy ones, because they were in one of those FUN ARTS&CRAFTS kids craft sets, and they were all plasticy looking with bright pink, yellow, blue, green, red and all vibrant colours of feather, so I assumed they were plastic. Now I am very concerned that I have feathers hanging above my bed….

After browsing the web, and having a look around, I am almost certain these are imitation feathers! In fact yes, I’m sure! 100%!

 

And finally… the actual whole dreamcatcher, thought I’d build up the suspense with some close up shots πŸ˜‰

 

Last on the to-do-after-exam list is the garden! Well its more of a ‘yard’ but it is a pretty decent size. Anyone have any good ideas for what we can do with this garden? It’s a rented house so nothing too extravagant probably just going to make it so we can get to our back gate!

 

Anyway, lots of revision to do, so wherever you are in the world, enjoy the summer sun or the summer whatever-your-weather-is, and be grateful you don’t have to sit indoors revising like me! πŸ™‚ x

 

4 thoughts on “Big Ideas For My New House

  1. Hey! I reckon you should pull up the weeds and use the right hand side of the garden to plant some seeds! You could do stuff like potatoes, carrots, chillies, tomatoes, herbs… basically whatever you fancy. And in a few months time you can serve up your own home-grown organic vegan produce! I’m not sure if your house mates will appreciate you taking up the garden with food, but it’s what I’d do!

    • Heey,, and ooh if I planted now do you think anything would be ready for before I move out in July 2013? I don’t know anything about gardening I’m ashamed to say but really wanna get into it! My housemates are up for anything I think πŸ™‚

      • hmmm yeah I didn’t think about that. Well you can grow runner beans if you get one of those garden cane stick things. Radishes and potatoes will also be fine. Carrots and tomatoes you’d be pushing it a bit. Everything would need to be planted in the early spring. Might end up being more trouble than it’s worth (n) Just turn it into a zen garden instead πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

