Raw veganism…

 

I made scrambled tofu this morning, except I got way too ingredient-happy, and added sun dried tomatoes, spring onion, chopped garlic,  babycorn, spinach, teryaki sauce, soy sauce, salt.. all to tofu which was pre-marinated. Now, most people reading this would be like OK you’re an idiot… but in my head it made me think, why do I cook all these things, beacuse when you eat fresh, raw food it tastes soo much nicer… and I was looking at some food on the Real Raw facebook page (check it out its cool!) and on The Warehouse Cafe‘s page (never been but plan to go when I’m next in Birmingham!), and it inspired me to ditch the horrible tofu mess (which really was inedible!), and make a little fruity creation for lunch. If you’re thinking it doesn’t look like a very filling lunch, I also had a banana and fruit smoothie :D.

Maybe I’m just a science nerd, but I read this paper about the health benefits of apples and it was really interesting! In summary:

“Evidence suggests that a diet high in fruits and vegetables may decrease the risk of chronic diseases,
such as cardiovascular disease and cancer, and phytochemicals including phenolics, flavonoids and
carotenoids from fruits and vegetables may play a key role in reducing chronic disease risk. Apples
are a widely consumed, rich source of phytochemicals, and epidemiological studies have linked the
consumption of apples with reduced risk of some cancers, cardiovascular disease, asthma, and
diabetes. In the laboratory, apples have been found to have very strong antioxidant activity, inhibit
cancer cell proliferation, decrease lipid oxidation, and lower cholesterol. Apples contain a variety
of phytochemicals, including quercetin, catechin, phloridzin and chlorogenic acid, all of which are
strong antioxidants.”

 

Blueberries have the same healthy effect, with the effect of inhibiting cell proliferation (and cancer cells), and other health bonuses like reducing stress!

Woohooo for fruit 😀

 

Maybe I just haven’t been eating enough fruit lately, but this was definitely the most satisfying lunch I’ve had in  a while… raw veganism might even have been an option if my mum wasn’t making veggie paella tonight! (although I’m definitely gonna look into some raw recipes for the future)

x

Leave a Reply

