Long Awaited Recipe for Spicy Carrot and Red Lentil Soup, served with Cashew Leafy Salad and Garlic Bread (VEGAN RECIPE)

 

Finally, I took some photos whilst making the Spicy Carrot and Red Lentil Soup with Lacey last night, so you can have a face to the name for this recipe now πŸ™‚ I am going to repeat the recipe even though I mentioned it in a previous post, because it’s easier than scrolling up and down etc.

We served the soup with a leafy salad and cashews, and garlic bread. It was delicious, but SUCH a filling meal that I couldn’t finish it all (and thats very rare for me!). I also had to get up at 2:30am for work at Starbucks, so knowing I was just about to go to bed after eating probably put me off scoffing my face!

In other news, it’s A level results day today, so lots of people the year below me, or people who took a year out for whatever reason, are all finding out they’ve got into uni today. This has motivated me to push full steam ahead with these resits, because I know how much I put in to be at uni, and I’m not going to throw it all away over a little bit of molecular genetics (despite how hard I find it!). So blogging is on a bit of a hold, but I’m trying to post once a day πŸ™‚

Here goes with the DELICIOUS recipe for Spicy Carrot and Red Lentil Soup, served with Cashew Leafy Salad and Garlic Bread:

Ingredients:

600g carrots (grated)

140g split red lentils

1L hot veg stock

2tsp cumin seed (whole seeds, preferably not ground)

A big pinch of chilli flakes (or piri piri seasoning like what we used on the sweet potato chips)

2 tbsp olive oil

125ml coconut milk (stupidly, I forgot to add coconut milk last night as was going from memory, I’m not so smug about the off-the-top-of-my-head recipe now!)
Easy easy Method:

1) dry cook the cumin seeds and chilli flakes for about 40 seconds or until you can smell them in the air, make sure they don’t burn-if they do just wash the pan and start again

2) add the stock to the pan


3) grate the carrots


4) add carrots and lentils to pan, then add coconut milk

Β (OOPS I forgot coconut milk)
5) bring to the boil then simmer for 15 minutes
6) take off heat and blend to desired thickness


7) serve with sprinkle of cumin seeds, salad of choice and garlic bread (we chopped garlic, mixed with dairy-free butter, then spread it on to part-baked bread with mixed herbs) and I froze the leftovers so am going to enjoy this again in the future

 

OK I didn’t quite realise how many photos I took whoops… Anyway… This is such a quick and yummy meal… you have no excuse not to try it πŸ˜€

x

 

5 thoughts on “Long Awaited Recipe for Spicy Carrot and Red Lentil Soup, served with Cashew Leafy Salad and Garlic Bread (VEGAN RECIPE)

  1. Pingback: Carrot and red lentil soup! « Veganism as a meat lover

  2. Pingback: Very Cute Mini Pie « Veganism as a meat lover

Leave a Reply

