The beauty struggles of a blonde-haired, naturally brunette vegan. PART ONE

Exams finished for the summer!!!!!!!! woooooo! Let my 2 weeks of summer begin. So happy now, they went OK, and all I’m thinking about now are the next two weeks before results on the 10th Sept, because I can just enjoy myself until then 😀

So the first thing on my to-do list once I’d finished that exam was to go and buy some hair dye! My roots are terrible, and I’m sure the male viewers of this blog won’t care much for this post but it’s a very difficult part of being a un-natural vegan- finding some good vegan hair dye! Most of the time, the problem is that all the large companies test on animals, so I went to my local veggie store, On The Eighth Day, and bought the “NATURTINT Green Technology” brand of hair dye, in the Light Dawn Blonde (101) colour. It has no ammonia, and is free from heavy metals, artificial fragrances, then a load of other things I haven’t heard of (free from: SLS, FORMALDEHYDE DERIVATIVES, PARABENS etc..). So I don’t know what is actually in it, but there’s only one way to find out if this stuff works…….. here goes nothing!

OK, so for those of you who don’t know what I look like this, above, is me. (The one on the left obviously, although my brothers increasingly long hair could pass for a girl :P).

This is the most recent photo of me, from Sunday when my Uncle, baby cousin and nan came to visit, and as per I had my hair tied back, and didn’t really do much with it. I am sick of having boring, blonde hair… (and hate my natural dark brown hair) so today, after all the exam stress.. as well as the blonde dye I went and treated myself to some coloured hair dye (and I will show you what I’m doing with it later!).

Vibrant, I know! The woman in the shop said it was vegan, and that she wasn’t into anything animal tested, and she is pretty sure it’s a good brand. I checked the ‘Stargazer’ website (the brand of this dye), and it’s never been tested on animals in its life 😀 woohoo! Another bonus- they were supposed to be £4 each, but she gave me all 4 for £12… bargain!

The first photo of me isn’t great at showing off my hair, so as embarrassed as I was, I took a few photos of myself to show you my hair as it is now, in a bit of a “before/after” style thing!

As I now look at the above photos, as I sit here with the NATURTINT blonde dye in my hair, I am a little sad that I didn’t just stay the colour I was! My roots are currently a bright shade of ginger, and although I’m only 10 minutes into the recommended 30 minute developing time, I’m very scared it’ll stay ginger! In this case, I will save the sassy colours until another day, and try to sort out this ginger mop first!

Here’s me, terrified, and 15 minutes into the blond-/ging-ifying root session:

Going to put the dye on the rest of my hair now. I should really have bought 2 boxes to do my hair, because it’s nearly all run out, but I’m just going to put it on as much of my hair as I can, and massage it around a bit… oh god why do I improvise with everything… first the cake now this…….. when will I learn? If only main-stream brands didn’t test on animals, I’d be walking out of the hairdressers now with a beautifully blondified hairdo…

grrr @ animal testing!

6 thoughts on “The beauty struggles of a blonde-haired, naturally brunette vegan. PART ONE

  1. haha no worries i’m sticking to one colour and that colour will probably be the money saving option of the turquoise i already have …after i bleach my hair again, hopefully before my long awaited return to the motherland 😛 excited to see your results from this!

  2. you are truly a excellent webmaster. The website loading pace is incredible.
    It kind of feels that you’re doing any distinctive trick. Furthermore, The contents are masterwork. you’ve performed a fantastic activity on this topic!

  3. Many headaches are a result from not enough water
    in the body. They test them all, noticing which ones produce the greatest gains,
    the most energy, and provide a healthy alternative to banned substances.
    If you discover that your doctor is not open minded about dietary
    supplementation in general you may need to seek a second opinion.

Leave a Reply

