Mandarins and Funny Bits

I don’t want to make this into a list of food I’ve eaten, so I’m going to be cautious not to do that! But being at home with the parents, I seem to be so busy with 1,000 to do, and still haven’t unpacked all my clothes yet! And I’ve been going round to my grandmas house (yesterday I was there from 12 til about half 4!) so that has taken up a lot of my time. I made her kimblake soup, but completely forgot to take a photo! She loved it so much that when I go back on Thursday I’m teaching her how to make it πŸ˜€ (so photos to follow!).

It’s funny seeing how my grandma describes kimblake: “I’d like to have, you know… that soup with all the funny bits in it”… and I’m thinking what? Spices? Makes me laugh anyway! And although it’s not the most exciting place in the world, I found going to my grandmas to be quite grounding- we were in histerics laughing because I couldn’t work the hob, and in actual fact I just hadn’t turned it on at the switch. It probably wasn’t even that funny but was nice to have a laugh with her and put a lot of things into perspective for me πŸ™‚

BACK TO FOOD! This is a veg stew my mum made on Sunday (gone are theΒ SundayΒ roasts… but I am attempting Nut Roast thisΒ SundayΒ so watch out for that!)

Also, me and my little sister got bored (and she got hungry) so we decided to make a victoria sponge!

The idea was to have whipped cream and mandarin slices, but the soy cream wouldn’t whip, we made buttercream, and the mandarins fell out of the cake, so all in all it could be described as a bit of a failure! At least our love and care went into it though, and we enjoyed making it even if it wasn’t a show stopper…

 

Actually…. after taking Β a look at the photos.. It wasn’t that bad and inevitably I’m going to HAVE to go and have another piece…..

 

Leave a Reply

