Udon Wok Fried Noodles Meets The Thirsty Scholar

First of all- this was the most amazing thing I’ve ever made. It was one of those meals that left me so satisfied and happy (yes- it actually made me smile- definitely the sign of a good meal!). It was also the easiest thing ever, and that’s gotta be a bonus right?

I fried chopped garlic (3 cloves) and grated ginger (2 inches) into a pan with a splash of vegetable oil, 2tbsp soy sauce and 2 tbsp teriyaki sauce.

I then added 3 spring onions (using almost the whole thing, including the green part, leaving about 2cm of the top which didn’t look very appetising), 1/2 white onion chopped, and about 4 frozen brussel sprouts (OK, I’m going to have to admit it- I thought they were peas, and when they fell out of the bag thought “oh well…in they go!”).

I then added 1/2 a sliced red pepper, and left them to stir fry for a little while, adding a little more soy and a little more teriyaki sauce.

After some of the veg softened, I added a pack of UDON noodles (this is basically the best type of noodle ever! Everywhere I’ve ever gone, whether it be out to a restaurant or in the shops, udon are always vegan! But I’d always check the packaging in case of any nasty surprises- stranger things have happened).

After stir frying for 2 – 3 minutes, I sprinkled some sesame seeds on (they do this in a noodle bar in town, and it looked fancy so I went for it :D)

YUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUM

 

So that was lunch, as you can tell I enjoyed it!

Then last night I went to a pub/bar place in town called the Thirsty Scholar, apparently a vegetarian pub too, where they serve veggie food in the day. We went at night and it was so nice, really good atmosphere and music! It was our friend Tree’s 20th Birthday, and I think she had a good night by the way she was dancing πŸ˜‰

Here are some photos of the night- anyone in Manchester should check this place out its a good night, it’s under the bridge just past the universities!

 

This above is Lacey, Me and Ruby. We are 3 of the committee members for VegSoc, and Tree is the chair of the society, with Will and Sai the other two also at the pub, so it did turn into a mini committee meeting when we all met and started discussing events etc! These two girls are both lovely, Lacey is a vegan, and Ruby is veggie and pretty much on her way to vegan (we wiiiill persuade her of the good life one day :p). Ruby also brought apples to the pub, which ups my respect for her entirely. It does help having veggie friends when you’re vegan- IΒ recommendΒ anyone struggling to find your local vegan group, there will be one close enough, and it really helps :D.

 

I don’t think I’d have been this happy holding my fiver once I realised the drink would be Β£4.50! Not the cheapest of pubs……

 

The birthday girlllllll left, and some of her mates πŸ˜€

Face pulling timeee.. always essential when you bring a camera to the pub… Laceys is my favourite πŸ˜€

 

I’m off to work this afternoon, 5.30pm-11.00pm, and not really sure how I’ll get chance for tea! Might have a big lunch then take a pitta concoction that I can warm up and eat on my break! Any easy on-the-go food ideas welcome πŸ˜€

X

 

3 thoughts on “Udon Wok Fried Noodles Meets The Thirsty Scholar

  1. Thanks for every other fantastic article. The place else may anybody get that kind of information in such a perfect manner of writing? I’ve a presentation next week, and I’m on the look for such information.

  2. Pingback: Veganism as a meat lover

  3. Pingback: Day 18- king of all salads | Veganism as a meat lover

Leave a Reply

