Tempura Veg – Easy Vegan (Recipe)

HAPPY HALLOWEEN

To celebrate, we dressed up last night and went to a friends house party 🙂 I didn’t drink too much but I woke up in the morning feeling like I needed to pig out, as you do.

Since seeing veg tempura at the 1849 restaurant, I’ve wanted to try it but never really got the chance. I was working on my museum project from home today, so for lunch I branched out a bit and made tempura peppers, leek and onions. It was SO nice. I know it’s definitely well within the “bad” food category … Fried to within an inch of its life. Not very healthy, but it’s a definite winner for those one off indulgence moments. And this recipe worked great for me. The batter was quite thin so you weren’t overwhelmed with batter but they still had that satisfying CRUNCH

Firstly, I’ll point out that you need a lotttt of oil (1 1/3 cups) so once I’d finished cooking and had left the oil to cool, I poured it into an empty bottle as it’s fine to use it again. This is a photo on the left of how this recipe is supposed to look! I think I did quite well :D. The recipe is from one of the books I got for my birthday, called ‘easy vegan’.

It’s such an easy to follow recipe, with advice on general cooking as well as just the straight out recipe.

Whilst the oil is heating up, you need to chop your veg. Set aside 1 1/3 cups of ice water (I assume this is just ice cold water?).

Mix together all dry ingredients in a separate bowl (6 tbsp cornflour, 1 1/3 cups flour, 1/4 tsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp salt). Then simply add cold water to dry ingredients, mix (only a few stirs, best to leave it lumpy rather than over stir it and ruin it) and start dipping your veg.

I chose to use peppers, leek and onions all cut into strips, just because it’s all I had. The book suggests using any veg with low water content.

Leave them on a medium to high heat for 2-3 minutes, then remove from the pan and place on kitchen towel to drain a bit of the oil off.

At some point during the above process, I recommend making this Japanese sauce (1/4 cup soy sauce, 1 tbsp orange juice, 1 tsp lime juice, 1 tsp lemon juice) because it’s really authentic tasting and really makes the whole thing taste perfectly finished and luxurious!

Enjoy x

4 thoughts on “Tempura Veg – Easy Vegan (Recipe)

  1. Pingback: Bean Sprouts and Stomach Size « Veganism as a meat lover

  2. Hi! It looks pretty appetising. And the step of leaving the lumps- noteworthy. I too tried veg tempura and it turned out pretty good, too. Btw. Good job with the pictures. Have a look at what i made here-http://goo.gl/DwBWS

  3. Pingback: Your Questions About Vegan Recipes Easy | Vegan Recipes

Leave a Reply

