Steak ‘n’ Rice- An Unusual Vegan Recipe (with NO fake meat!)

STEAK! I love how they called this steak on the recipe card, it just seemed so stupid. But to be fair, it tasted amazing (like steak) so I suppose that’s a winner. If you don’t like fennel, this one’s probably not for you. My brother hates fennel so wasn’t too impressed, but the Persian rice and spicy beans are amazing and anyone will love them, so you could sub out the fennel for another veg!

So the recipe for the rice was from my Easy Vegan Cookbook, the Fennel Steaks were from Able & Cole. (a company that send out seasonal organic produce to your house each week, then recycle the boxes they use :D. They also include recipes of the food you got incase you don’t know how to use it!) The spicy beans were a complete concoction and made up combination of everything in the cupboards, so experiment! 😀

Here is a basic recipe for what I made, but if you want the proper recipe for the rice, I really would recommend Easy Vegan as everything I’ve cooked from that book has come out perfect- and truly was easy. I like the little touches too, like the description for the Persian rice which had a little history, and makes you trust the book!

 

PERSIAN RICE Ingredients: 
1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp ground cardamon (white)
1/2 tsp sugar
1 3/4 cups of basmati rice
1 tsp salt
3 tbsp oil
1/3 cup raisins
1/3 cup flaked almonds
1/4 cup shelled pistachios, chopped
3/4 cup of frozen peas, thawed and blanched in boiling water
1 tbsp finely grated orange peel
a large pinch of saffron threads

FENNEL STEAK Ingredients:
2 large fennel
Sea salt
Freshly ground pepper
Olive oil

SPICY BEAN Ingredients:
1 can kidney beans
2 cups of tomatoes (chopped)
2 chopped chillis
1 red bell pepper (chopped)

 

 
METHOD (combined recipes for the above 3):

 

OK, so I didn’t exactly follow the recipe. It asks you to create layers of rice and veg, but I just threw all the peas, raisins and nuts into the pan, then added rice that I’d just cooked, then added the orange peel, and the spices and sugar. I mixed it all in, and tadaa!

 

I sprinkled with saffron then poked holes to allow air to rise through the rice. Then popped the lid on and left it on a low heat to steam whilst I cooked everything else. It was just steaming in its own lovely perfumes, and the smell was amazing! RICE= DONE!

Next we were ready to start creating the spicy beans. Like I said, I made this up, but thought how hard can it be? I added kidney beans and peppers to the pan in a little oil, then added in the chillis and fried them up for a few minutes. Then I added a load of freshly chopped tomatoes (I hate the taste of tinned chopped tomatoes, both the way they look and taste is not fresh in the slightest!) and the juices came out of the tomatoes which made it saucy. Keep adding tomatoes until its spicy enough for you. Leave to simmer. SPICY BEANS = DONE!

Now we will be ready for the fennel steaks. It took mine about 10 mins of sizzling away for me to be truly happy they were done. First chop both ends off (use these in a salad or something). Then cut into slices (steak-like, naturally).

 

Get some oil in a sizzling hot griddle pan, and heat it up to the maximum. Season generously with salt and pepper, and add the fennel to the pan.

 

Keep looking out for them to brown on the outside, and keep flipping.

 

You can stir the beans constantly, but try to minimise stirring the rice, you want to keep the lid on and leave it steaming for most of the process.

 

Whilst now waiting for the fennel to fry, potter about the kitchen and take photos of things:) This is the Abel & Cole box I told you about in the intro. You can order specific items, and you can get random boxes. We get one random box and one with things in we’ve chosen, and it works really well. You get a load of stuff you wouldn’t choose (like yellow cauliflower!!) but it really widens your horizons in terms of what food you then eat!

Anyway, by now the steaks are done… tadaaa (realistically you have to wait 10 mins, being able to smell the gorgeous rice and impatiently tapping your fingers wanting the steaks to be done).

 

They look to die for when they’re done. A bit oily, so not really that great a cooking method, but if they taste great we can eat like this every now and again (I think I’m going to have to go on an oil detox? Maybe for Vegan Month :D). Now you can serve them up. I found that 2 ‘steaks’ each was a good amount.

 

 

And enjoy 🙂 X

7 thoughts on “Steak ‘n’ Rice- An Unusual Vegan Recipe (with NO fake meat!)

  1. Pingback: Questions on Vegan Recipes For Kids Your Questions About Vegan Recipes Easy | Questions on Vegan Recipes For Kids

  2. Pingback: Questions on Vegan Recipes For Kids Your Questions About Vegan Recipes | Questions on Vegan Recipes For Kids

  3. Hey there, You have done a fantastic job. I’ll definitely digg it and personally suggest to my friends. I’m sure they will be benefited from this site.

  4. Wow, awesome weblog layout! How lengthy have you been blogging for? you made blogging look easy. The full glance of your web site is wonderful, as neatly as the content!

  5. Spot on with this write-up, I seriously believe that this website needs a great deal more attention. I’ll probably be returning to read more, thanks for the information!

  6. Hi there I am so thrilled I found your webpage, I really found you by mistake, while I was researching on Digg for something else, Anyways I am here now and would just like to say cheers for a remarkable post and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a great deal more, Please do keep up the excellent work.

Leave a Reply

