Vegan at YO! Sushi

I went to YO! Sushi. Now I am back, I feel a bit guilty. I love sushi (see my sushi recipe here), and know it is EASY to make vegan. They cook all their food in the same pans as they cook the other dishes (inc. meat :S), and there was something that made me guilty about eating there :/ Their staff were not veryΒ knowledgeableΒ about what they sell. At one point, a guy came over handing out free samples of a new rice dish, informing me it was vegetarian and probably vegan (I didn’t chance it though), and he came back a few seconds later saying it had fish in it! Hmmm…….

Anyway, if you don’t mind contaminated food, and you’re prepared to ask for specially made dishes, then this is what I got:

Miso soup to start (they told me this was vegan)

Firecracker rice (the photo above is of my mums salmon rice, as I ate mine way too quick to take a photo!)

I ordered this Vegetable Futomaki, with cucumber, pickled onion, tamago, avocado and carrot, but I asked them to make it without the tamago (japanese omlette). This was really nice πŸ™‚ I also got some avocado sushi.

I didn’t get desert, but this ‘Mochi’ was in the dietary info folder that they let me look at, and it just said Contains: Soy. There is no milk/eggs/meat in it, which suggests it’s vegan. But they didn’t let me see the ingredients so I left it! I don’t normally trust ANYBODY, but I was a bit too trusty at this place I think haha! So all the above I was told were vegan, and I still for some reason seem skeptical.

But anyway, there are options out there if you ask! πŸ˜€

2 thoughts on “Vegan at YO! Sushi

  1. “I ordered this Vegetable Futomaki, with cucumber, pickled onion, tamago, avocado and carrot, but I asked them to make it without the tamago (japanese omlette). This was really nice πŸ™‚ I also got some avocado sushi” Both of these are not vegan!! Check carefully next time xo

    • Hi Jessica, thanks for your comment! I had a big conversation with the people at Yo Sushi!, and explained I was vegan so they made me specifically vegan versions! The Vegetable Futomaki was without the omelette (and whatever else was in there), and the avocado sushi was without that mayo that’s in there πŸ™‚ They assured me it was vegan, I guess if you don’t ask you don’t get πŸ˜€ Thanks for the comment though I agree it’s definitely good to be careful with these things. xx

Leave a Reply

