Meatballs and roasted butternut squash (vegan recipe)

20121112-093559.jpg

There was one night where I just felt like meatballs. I nearly made burgers, but I don’t think I’ve ever had veggie meatballs. Challenge accepted!

I used the ‘meat’ from my chilli burgers that I had in the freezer, and squished them into little balls. I then made the red pepper oil that I made here to accompany a pasta dish, and I roasted some butternut squash.

The butternut squash was actually going to be part of the sauce, then I subbed out pasta and had this in its place. I hardly ever have pasta, and I’m happy to keep it this way 🙂

20121112-093608.jpg

I just fried the meatballs in some oil until they were crispyish and brown on the outside.

Then I made a ‘bed’ (is that the right fancy term?) of butternut squash and rather sloppily threw the meatballs and sauce on.

I added a handful of roasted tomatoes to the sauce, to give it a thick tomato sauce taste.

I topped with Parmesan (the vegan one) and it was done.

A very easy and quick meal (as long as you have frozen ‘meat’), and it was so delicious. Maybe next time ill use less oil, as this is probably making the meal very unhealthy :S

20121112-093548.jpg

One thought on “Meatballs and roasted butternut squash (vegan recipe)

  1. Pingback: Pinterest Recipes » Meatballs and roasted butternut squash (vegan recipe) « Veganism …

Leave a Reply

