Mexican Rice and Bean Salad Recipe

I’m going to a Latin American themed Vegan Potluck tonight, and I can’t wait! Everyone’s bringing appropriately themed vegan food and I’ve made an amazingly simple yet delicious rice salad that I had to share πŸ˜€

The recipe, as usual, is from BBC Good Food (god I love that site).. all the recipes ALWAYS turn out good… like it’sΒ guaranteedΒ  And this one definitely didn’t disappoint. As simple as chopping the ingredients and throwing them together, and as delicious as a rice dishΒ that’sΒ fallen off aΒ MexicanΒ street stall.

Mexican Salad

 

I used a 3 rice mix of organic basmati rice, wild rice and organic red rice.

IMG_8581

I used a tinned 5 bean salad (laziness creeping in there!)

There’s literally nothing else I can tell you about this dish, because it’s so simple… All I know is that you should read the easy peasy recipe below, go buy the ingredients, and make this!

Enjoy X

 

IMG_8560 IMG_8561 IMG_8562 IMG_8573 IMG_8575

 

Ingredients

  • 175g/6oz basmati and wild rice
  • 400g can mixed bean salad , drained and rinsed
  • bunchΒ spring onionsΒ , chopped
  • 1Β red pepperΒ , deseeded and chopped
  • 1Β avocadoΒ , chopped
  • juice 1Β limeΒ , plus wedges to serve
  • 1 tbsp Cajun spice mix
  • small bunch coriander , chopped

Method

  1. Cook the rice following pack instructions. Drain, then cool under cold running water until completely cold. Stir in beans, onions, pepper and avocado.
  2. Mix the lime juice with the Cajun spice mix and some black pepper. Pour over the rice mix, stir in the coriander and serve with extra lime wedges.
6 thoughts on “Mexican Rice and Bean Salad Recipe

  1. Mmm! It was a success as always with BBC Good Food! And that’s a really good idea Louise, Im def going to have a nosey on there πŸ™‚

  2. I almost never leave responses, however i did some searching and
    wound up here Mexican Rice and Bean Salad Recipe | Veganism as a
    meat lover. And I actually do have a couple of questions
    for you if you usually do not mind. Could it be only me
    or does it look as if like some of these responses appear like they
    are left by brain dead folks? πŸ˜› And, if you are posting on additional online sites, I’d like to follow anything new you have to post. Would you list of all of all your shared pages like your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

    • My instagram is Molly Czachur, so you qew more than welcome to follow me there where I post photos of food (and everything ese!)

Leave a Reply

