A new idea- TOASTING veggie burgers

In my house, veggie burgers (like any oven-cooked ‘delight’), sit in the freezer neglected and forgotten about until the point of desperation. It is only when the fridge and cupboards are bare that I go for a rummage, find a veggie burger, and kind of lower myself to getting it out. Then the despair comes when I read ’25 MIN’ cooking time, and I reluctantly put it in the oven. In those  precious 25 stomach-rumbling minutes, I’ve already concocted another meal and end up just eating the burger on its own when it’s ready (yes.. I’m extremely greedy and don’t like to wait for food!).

BUT… Yesterday, I discovered a miracle. Some of you may say this will wreck the toaster, others may say DUH I’ve been doing this for years.. but either way, I toasted my frozen veggie burger in a matter of 2-3 minutes, and it was completely done, all the way through, no cold bits inside, and it was even golden brown on the outside! RESULT.

photo (16)

I was going to go on a bit of a raw/health-conscious detox, but then the whole toaster thing happened. Dammit.

Anyway, you don’t really need a recipe for this one, but here’s how it went…

Ingredients

Seeded bread (I can’t even imagine eating white bread now it’s been so long.. what’s wrong with me??!?! It’s not even to do with the vegan thing, as there are vegan white breads out there… It just seem so unappealingly, unnaturally white)

1 avocado- mushed

1 veggie burger – toasted (I used TESCO edadame bean burger, hence the horse burger joke). Look how golden brown it goes in the toaster- that’s me won over

photo (1)

Lettuce

Dollop of vegan mayo

Side salad (I used cherry tomatoes, bean sprouts, spring onion and the leftover avocado mush)

Method

Spread vegan mayo on one piece of bread

Spread avocado (mashed with fork) on other piece of bread. You will only need about half an avocado for this. Save the other half for the salad.

photo (2)

Place lettuce on one side, and toasted burger on the other. Tadaaaa.

photo (3)

For the side salad, I just quartered some cherry tomatoes and sliced some spring onion, tossed it in a bowl with some beansprouts and mixed in the remaining avocado. It was delicious!

photo (18)

Enjoy this summery delight with a cup of freshly squeezed orange juice- no funny bits!

photo (17)

 

Enjoy X

 

 

Leave a Reply

