Courgette Chilli Noodles Recipe – Vegan

I bought some Sweet Chilli Sauce with garlic and ginger- absolute win I definitely recommend it! I was going to whip up some generic sweet chilli udon noodles and a bit of veg, but then I thought, I don’t NEED to have udon noodles… It’d be far more nutritious to use a vegetable as the noodles… cue the courgette.

photo (1)

I had hardly any ingredients, so it was a definite ‘use what you can find’ sort of meal! But I was very proud of it, and my tummy was happy too, which means it’s definitely blog-worthy.

To start my day, I had porridge (made with rice milk) with pumpkin seeds and crushed up walnuts, mmmm! I unfortunately didn’t squeeze my own orange juice this morning, but it’s something that I need to start doing more often.

Breakfast of porridge, made with rice milk, and a sprinkle of pumpkin seeds and walnuts

Breakfast of porridge, made with rice milk, and a sprinkle of pumpkin seeds and walnuts

Then onto the big deal!

Ingredients

1 courgette (or zucchini for the american crowd!)

photo (6)

1 spring onion, sliced

photo (3)

1 carrot, halved and sliced

photo (12)

2 tsp sweet chilli sauce

photo (7)

Method

Fry the spring onions until the are almost caramelising in their own skin, nice and golden on the outside.

photo (4)

Add the carrots, and mix all the spring onion-y juices into the carrot.

When carrots are a little soft, add the courgette, sliced, and the sweet chilli sauce.

courgette

Mix well, ensuring all ingredients are covered in a thin layer of chilli sauce.

Leave to fry in the wok for a good 3-4 minutes (or until the veg is cooked to your liking).

photo (8)

I served this as a main, on a square plate, because things like this always look nicer on a square plate, and with a miso soup for starters!

The miso soup comes in a dried up instant-soup style packet. It’s just an add-water job, but I always add some of my own spring onion too to give it a little crunch!

photo (9)

And heres some snaps to make you want it… it was honestly such a gorgeous satisfyingly lovely lunch…

photo (11)

photo (8)

soup and main

photo (15)

One thought on “Courgette Chilli Noodles Recipe – Vegan

  1. Pingback: My Ten Vegan Lessons, One Year On | Veganism as a meat lover

Leave a Reply

