24 Hours Being Raw

Yep- for some reason, in this -4°C weather, with snowflakes falling outside the window, I decide now is a good time to go raw! I spent 24hrs trying out the raw vegan diet, and have to admit that after those 24hrs I ended up having hummous (coocked chickpeas caught me out) and after a night out ended up having a veggie burger (my bad!). I can make raw hummous so that’s not a problem, but I do miss hot food. Even though I’ve now failed, I’m going to continue trying to eat as much raw as possible for the next three weeks as a sort of detox… lets see how that goes! One recipe which was really good was this raw vegan lasagna by Rawfully Organic. It was great, but when its SO cold outside, I kind of wanted something hot :(.

For Breakfast I had mixed fruit salad (oranges, pears, strawberries, grapes, blueberries, banana, a bit of everything) with a glass of orange juice (freshly squeezed by me)

For Lunch I had carrot sticks, pepper sticks and tomatoes with dip, then some leftover fruit salad and some raw sugar cookies that I made (recipe isnt GREAT but I’ll share a good one when I find it. Mine was mixing 1/4 cup of flour with 1/2 tbsp agave nectar and 1/2 tbsp coconut oil, but I ended up adding about 4tbsp of agave nectar to get it doughey enough… and it was SO sweet ughh) . This isn’t exactly a model lunch, but I was on the move so found it hard to fit in time for lunch.

And for Dinner… here are some photos for this glorious recipe. If you live in a hot country, or if you’re reading this in the summer, literally just make it! The colours, the flavours, the textures, the smells, everything about this dish is feel good, nutritious and empowering, but just not on a snowy afternoon in Manchester. Saying that, I ate it, and had it again the next day, so I’m not sure what I’m complaining about!

IMG_0243 IMG_0244 IMG_0245 IMG_0246 IMG_0247 IMG_0248 IMG_0249 IMG_0250 IMG_0254 (1)

 

You can see the rich colours of the ‘sprinkles’ and the tomato sauce. I unfortunately can’t find any photos of the finished dish, but it was basically just a layering process of courgette, green sprinkles and tomato sauce. It was SO TASTY! Here is the recipe from Rawfully Organic 🙂

Ingredients:

  1. 5 Large Zucchinis
  2. Cherry Tomaotes Aprrox 2 Pints (Separate from the amount for the Epic Raw Marinara)
  3. Bunch Italian Parsley
  4. Bunch Cilantro
  5. Bunch Arugula
  6. Bunch Spinach
  7. Quarter cup Pine Nuts (less if desired!)
  8. 1 Small Green Onion
  9. 1 Small Garlic Clove (Optional)

 

Directions:

To make the zucchini layers, you will need a mandolin slicer or handheld mandolin. This slices the zucchini into long strips so that you can use them to separate your layers. Use approximately 4 zucchinis for your layers  and hold onto one for your pine nut dressing/”cheese.”

After you lay your first layer into your deep dish, you will need a food processor to finely cut/chop a mix of the parsley, cilantro, and spinach. If you want to add the arugula and green onion in here you can as well, but I do those as another layer closer to the top of the spread. After you put them in the food processor, these pieces of greens become so tiny that you can literally sprinkle them on top of the zucchini shreds. Green snow! 😉

If you want to use a few of the spinach or arugula leaves as bedding also between the zucchini layers, you are welcome to do so!

On top of the herbacious spread of “green snow” you will now make the Epic Raw Marinara and spread that on top. Please Note: I did something different than just pouring my marinara onto the lasagna. I didn’t want it to become watery, so I strained the epic raw marinara dressing to make it thicker. This worked fabulously! It may take some shaking with a strainer, but it will strain. Drink the yummy tomato juice afterwards!

To make the marinara, watch here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=wonNWAESsV8

After you add in the marinara, add another layer of zucchini.

Next, in the food processor, I combined the arugula along with the green onion, and then I sprinkled that on top of the zucchini.

Next in a vitamix, I made the pine nut “cheese.” In a vitamix, simply blend one large zucchini with a small amount of pine nuts (quarter cup or less) and a garlic clove if you desire it for extra flavor. Spread this as the next layer in your lasagna.

I add one more layer of zucchini, and then I slice up my cherry tomatoes to lay them across the top.

Cover the cherry tomatoes with one last layer of zucchini. Press firmly as to mush everything together!

In the video, I finely chopped a bed of swiss chard to place underneath the lasagna.

If you want to sprinkle more marinara sauce on top, ROC IT!

Hope that you enjoy this recipe as much as I do! To watch this you tube video on how to make it, please seewww.youtube.com/rawfullyorganic!

Leave a Reply

