Colds and Herbs

My life has completely changed since last time I posted on here! (And before all the meat eaters cheer thinking I’ve given in to steak and bacon- you’re wrong!)

I have moved University from Manchester, where I studied Zoology, to Bangor University where I’m now studying a joint honours in Marine Biology & Zoology, and I can’t wait to get stuck in 😀

20130917-180056.jpg

I am on day 3 living in Bangor. Day 1= getting very drunk. Day 2= being very hungover. And as a result I now have a huge cold and feel terribly run down, so I ended up buying some echinacea (I have no idea how to pronounce it, I just think of echinoderms then get distracted). Apparently a very well known herbal remedy for colds and flus, so I thought I’d give this plant-based treat a go! God I hate sneezing, it’s such a faff and I can’t stop.

So now I’m dosed up on multivits (Vegan ones from Holland & Barrett) and Echinacea, I decided I’d top it off with the Ayurvedic Healing Soup which I learnt from my mums friend, and a teacher in the Ayurvedic lifestyle. Hopefully that’ll sort me out!

20130917-180107.jpg

I was cooking on an electric hob, which is always exciting but a pain in the arse to get used to. For my first go, I don’t think I did too badly. I mainly got excited at how the glow from the hob lit up the whole room like a spaceship.

20130917-180116.jpg

Once done, I sprinkled with a bit of corriander, I forgot to buy some and my housemate only had a teeny bit left on a plant so I was a little gutted about that, but stole some from the plant nevertheless 😀

It was yuuuum (as always) but I have completely lost my appetite (why couldn’t this happen to me before summer?!?!) so I couldn’t finish it 😦

I will be sure to keep you updated on my vegan happenings in Bangor, despite failing over the past few months. Watch this space 😉

Leave a Reply

