Zero Waste Supermarket!

I WENT TO A ZERO WASTE SUPERMARKET!

My little sister Phoebe challenged me to practice what I preach and #refuseplastic for two weeks… how hard can it be when I try not to buy plastic anyway? When you run out of pasta, rice and lentils you suddenly realise that plastic is everywhere and my usual shopping trolley is clearly riddled with plastic. Suddenly I NEED pasta!

 

We can take baby steps towards reducing the plastic we buy, and collectively make a global movement towards consuming less plastic. This could result in less plastic in the oceans, could bring back an attitude of reusing the packaging we’ve got instead of just recycling, and shift attitudes towards supporting a healthier and more fair planet!

I visited Sel Fair, a zero-waste supermarket in Bremen, and I was not disappointed. I found it on www.bepakt.com, and suggest that you try the same for your area! I took my own jars and boxes, weighed them, filled them, then weighed again. I bought only what I needed, and I didn’t bring away any extra ‘waste’ that would end up in the recycling bin again. Bulk stores are popular in America… let’s bring more of them to Europe!

selfair4

#Practicewhatyoupreach… whether you hear yourself preaching a love for the environment, for animals or for your carbon footprint… I challenge you to REFUSE PLASTIC for the rest of the day, and show yourself that you can actively care for this planet!

Leave a Reply

